U Thein Sein

U  Thein Sein
  • President of Myanmar; Chair of ASEAN (2014)

1968, Graduate, Defence Services Academy - 9th intake; 1988, Major, Light Infantry Division 55, Kalaw, Shan State. 1989, Graduate, Command and General Staff College, Kalaw, Shan State. 1990, Commander, Infantry Battalion 89, Kale, Sagaing Division. 1992-95, General Staff Officer, War Office, Rangoon. 1995, Military Operations Command - 4, Hmawbi Township, Rangoon. 1996-2001, Commander, Triangle Regional Command, Kengtung Township, Shan State. 2001-03, Adjutant-General, War Office. 2003-04, SPDC Secretary-2. 2004-07, SPDC Secretary-1. 2004-07, Chairman, National Convention Convening Commission. 2007-11, SPDC Prime Minister. 2008-11, Chairman, National Disaster Preparedness Central Committee, tasked to oversee relief efforts after cyclone Nargis. 2010-11, Chairman, USDP; resigned from the USDP after being elected as Myanmar's President. 2010-11, Member of Parliament. Since Feb. 2011, Head of the National Defence and Security Council (NDSC). Since Feb. 2011, President of Myanmar.