Eskom Holdings SOC Limited

Eskom generates, transmits and distributes electricity to industrial, mining, commercial, agricultural and residential customers and redistributors. Additional power stations and major power lines are being built to meet rising electricity demand in South Africa. The programme has resulted in commissioning an additional 2,582 megawatts of capacity between 2005 and March 2009. It also buys electricity from and sells electricity to the countries of the Southern African Development Community (SADC). Eskom is regulated under licenses granted by the National Energy Regulator of South Africa (NERSA) under Electricity Act 41 of 1987 and the National Nuclear Regulator in terms of National Nuclear Regulatory Act 47 of 1999. Through its subsidiary Eskom Enterprises Limited, Eskom is also active in various African countries. These activities include the provision of electricity-related services to countries connected to the South African grid. Eskom's head office is in Johannesburg and its operations are focused on South Africa.