Print Download PDF Embed

News Release

Professor Patrick Aebischer joins Foundation Board, World Economic Forum

Adrian Monck, Managing Director, Head of Communications: +41 (0)79 615 1671;

  • Patrick Aebischer joins World Economic Forum’s Foundation Board
  • Foundation Board serves as guardian to World Economic Forum’s missions and values 
  • The theme of the 43rd World Economic Forum Annual Meeting is Resilient Dynamism. For more information, visit

Davos-Klosters, Switzerland, 26 January 2013 - The Foundation Board of the World Economic Forum has elected Patrick Aebischer, President Swiss Federal Institute of Technology of Lausanne, Switzerland to join its Board.

Professor Aebischer reinforces the multistakeholder concept of the Forum to integrate leaders from all walks of life into the process to shape the global, regional and industry agenda. Professor Aebischer is also an active Member of the Global University Leaders Forum, the premier global community of university presidents on the future of higher education and research.

The Foundation Board is the guardian of the World Economic Forum’s mission, values and brand. It is responsible for inspiring business and public confidence through an exemplary standard of governance. Individuals with unique leadership experience – from business, politics, academia and civil society – participate for three years in the Board's activities. The Board’s role includes managing the statutes of the World Economic Forum and its institutions; appointing new members; reviewing fund applications; determining and monitoring the execution of the World Economic Forum’s strategies; and defining the roles of the Managing Board and Committees, including the review of strategies and activities in light of the Forum’s mission.

After its Annual Meeting in Davos-Klosters on January 23-27, 2013 the Foundation Board consists of the following:

Klaus SCHWAB*                            
Chairman of the Foundation Board

Josef ACKERMANN*                    
Chairman of the Board, Zurich Insurance Group, Switzerland;
Vice-Chairman of the Foundation Board of the World Economic Forum

Patrick AEBISCHER                      
President, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology of Lausanne, Switzerland

H.M. Queen Rania AL ABDULLAH of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan

Mukesh AMBANI                           
Chairman and Managing Director, Reliance Industries, India

Kofi ANNAN                                   
Secretary-General of the United Nations (1997-2006)

Chairman of the Board, Nestlé, Switzerland

Mark CARNEY                               
Governor of the Bank of Canada

Victor CHU*                                    
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, First Eastern Investment Group,
Hong Kong SAR

Orit GADIESH**                             
Chairman, Bain & Company, USA

Carlos GHOSN**                           
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Renault-Nissan Alliance (France and Japan), France

Herman GREF                               
Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Sberbank, Russia

Christine LAGARDE                       
Managing Director, International Monetary Fund, Washington DC

Maurice LEVY                                
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Publicis Group, France

Luis MORENO                               
President, Inter-American Development Bank, Washington DC

Indra NOOYI                                  
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, PepsiCo, USA

Peter SANDS**                              
Group Chief Executive, Standard Chartered, United Kingdom

Joseph SCHOENDORF*               
Venture Partner, Accel Partners, USA

Peter SUTHERLAND**                  
Chairman, Goldman Sachs International, United Kingdom

Heizo TAKENAKA**                       
Director, Global Security Research Institute, Keio University, Japan; Minister of State for Economic and Fiscal Policy of Japan (2002-2006)

Ben VERWAAYEN*                       
Chief Executive Officer, Alcatel-Lucent, France

George YEO YONG-BOON          
Visiting Scholar, Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy; Minister of Foreign Affairs of Singapore (2004 – 2011)

Min ZHU                                         
Deputy Managing Director, International Monetary Fund, Washington DC

Ernesto Zedillo PONCE DE LEON
Director, Yale Center for the Study of Globalization; President of Mexico (1994-2000)

*Member of the Executive Committee

**Member of the Audit Committee

Notes to Editors

More information about the Annual Meeting 2013 is available at
View the best photographs from the Annual Meeting on Flickr at
Free media access to the Forum press photo archive Swiss-Image at
Watch live webcasts of sessions at and on demand at
Watch opinions and analysis of key sessions at
Watch the sessions on demand on YouTube at or
Become a fan of the Forum on Facebook at
Read the summaries of sessions at
Follow the Forum on Twitter at and (hashtag #WEF)
Read the Forum:Blog at
Follow the Forum on Google+ at
The Forum Media App is available here

The World Economic Forum is an international institution committed to improving the state of the world through public-private cooperation in the spirit of global citizenship. It engages with business, political, academic and other leaders of society to shape global, regional and industry agendas.

Incorporated as a not-for-profit foundation in 1971 and headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland, the Forum is independent, impartial and not tied to any interests. It cooperates closely with all leading international organizations (