Join us

World Economic Forum

Global Battery Alliance

The following groups are responsible for the governance and day-to-day work of the Alliance:

  • Supervisory Council, providing overall guidance and stewardship
  • Executive Board, serving as a structured group to raise and discuss topics affecting the Alliance as a whole and overseeing the Secretariat, activities of the Alliance, involvement of key stakeholders and progress towards realising the Alliance’s strategy
  • Working Groups, advancing projects and initiatives subsumed under the Alliance and offering platforms for the formation of country initiatives
  • Partner Group, comprising all Partners of the Alliance; Partners are eligible to sit on the Supervisory Council and the Executive Board
  • Secretariat, implementing and carrying out the work of the Alliance in accordance with the decisions of the Supervisory Council, the Executive Board, and any policies of the Alliance. The Secretariat is hosted by the World Economic Forum in Geneva.

Supervisory Council


  • Martin Brudermüller, Chairman of the Board of Executive Directors and Chief Technology Officer, BASF, Germany
  • Benedikt Sobotka, Chief Executive Officer, Eurasian Resources Group, Luxembourg


  • Lin Boqiang, Dean, China Institute for Studies in Energy Policy, Xiamen University, People's Republic of China
  • Jayadev Galla, Vice-Chairman, Amara Raja
  • Marc Grynberg, Chief Executive Officer, Umicore
  • Gary Haugen, Chief Executive Officer, International Justice Mission (IJM)
  • Christina Lampe-Onnerud, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Cadenza Innovation, USA
  • GhislainLescuyer, Chief Executive Officer, Saft
  • Martin Lundstedt, President and Chief Executive Officer, AB Volvo
  • Charlotte Pera, President, ClimateWorks Foundation, USA
  • Michael Posner, Professor, Center for Business and Human Rights, Stern School of Business, NYU
  • Vera Songwe, Executive Secretary, United Nations Economic Commission for Africa
  • Lord J. Adair Turner, Chairman, Energy Transitions Commission, United Kingdo
  • Dominic Waughray, Managing Director, Centre for Global Public Goods, Member of the Managing Board, World Economic Forum
  • Jeremy Weir, Chief Executive Officer, Trafigura Group, Singapore
  • Richard Fuller, President, Pure Earth
  • Zhang Yongwei, Secretary General and Chief Expert, China EV100

Executive board


  • Guy Ethier, Senior Vice-President, Supply Chain Sustainability, Umicore, Belgium


  • Gillian Davidson, Advisor to the CEO, Eurasian Resources Group
  • Marco Gazzino, Head, Innovation & Product Lab, Enel X
  • Karen Hayes, Vice President, Mines to Market, Pact
  • Jean-Philippe Hermine, Vice-President, Strategic Environmental Planning, Groupe Renault
  • Changuk Kim, VP, Head of Europe Marketing, Battery Business, SK Innovation
  • Jean-Baptiste Pernot, Vice President Operations, Saft
  • Charlotte Petri-Gornitzka, Deputy Executive Director, United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)
  • Thorsten Pinkepank, Director, Sustainability Relations, BASF
  • Thomas Truemper , Advisor, Client Liaison and Business Development, Deutsche Gesellschaft fürInternationaleZusammenarbeit (GIZ)
  • James Nicholson, Head of Corporate Responsibility, Trafigura
  • Josef Schön, Strategic Corporate Development & Sustainability, Audi
  • William Todts, Executive Director, Transport & Environment
  • Jens Wiese, Head, Group Battery Strategy; Head, Industrial Cooperation and Partnerships, Volkswagen
  • Claire Wilkinson, Vice President for Regional Operations, Africa, International Justice Mission (IJM)

More on: Future of Mobility View all

Subscribe for updates

A weekly update of what’s on the Global Agenda

© 2021 World Economic Forum

Privacy Policy & Terms of Service