Heat-Powered Computers, Handheld Disease Sensors, Smart Food Labels among Breakthroughs Powered by the Forum’s Young Scientists of 2018

17 Sep 2018

Oliver Cann, Public Engagement, World Economic Forum, Tel.: +41 79 799 3405; oliver.cann@weforum.org

· Every year, the World Economic Forum recognizes the best scientists in the world under the age of 40

· The Young Scientists Class of 2018 features 36 leading academics from 21 countries across six continents

· Meet the Young Scientists here. For the Annual Meeting of the New Champions visit: http://wef.ch/amnc18

· Follow the conversation using #AMNC18

Geneva, Switzerland, 17 September 2018 – Thirty-six brilliant researchers at the cutting edge of discovery are today recognized by the World Economic Forum with the announcement of its Class of 2018 Young Scientists.

The scientists, all under the age of 40, have been selected for their contribution to advancing the frontiers of science in ways that contribute to health, sustainability, inclusiveness and equity. Collectively, their research covers areas as diverse as artificial intelligence, biology and bio-medicine, physics and materials science, and energy and quantum computing.

The Young Scientists will play an important role at the Forum’s Annual Meeting of the New Champions, which is taking place in Tianjin, People’s Republic of China, on 18-20 September. They will participate in sessions and workshops alongside leaders from government, business, civil society and other stakeholder groups and contribute ideas for solving complex challenges within and outside their core areas of interest.

The Class of 2018 Young Scientists are: Enass Abo-Hamed, Shahzada Ahmad, Jill Baumgartner, Fiona Beck, Michael Janus Bojdys, Rona Chandrawati, Vinet Coetzee, Rubén Costa, Ding Ai, Duan Xuexin, Yabebal Fantaye, Tomislav Friscic, Aoife Ann Gowen, Janet Gutierrez-Uribe, Søren Hauberg, He Guojun, Alison Hill, Daniel E. Hurtado, Lamis Jomaa, Pierre Karam, Sang Ah Lee, Po-Shen Loh, Julia Makinde, Matthew Mckay, Prineha Narang, Sidy Ndao, Michael Niemack, Juan Pedro Ochoa Ricoux, Amy Ogan, Rodney Dewayne Priestley, Simone Schuerle, Mahyar Shirvanimoghaddam, Marcos Simoes-Costa, Alex Thompson, Angela Wu and Yang Na.

In addition, Young Scientists from the Class of 2017 taking part in the meeting include: Nicola Allen, Marta Cerruti, Ding Xianting, Kyle Elliott, Gregory Engel, Rafael Guido, Yoshihiro Kawahara, Rym Kefi, Katherine Kinzler, Andrey Kruglov, Jenny Lee Hyun-Joo, Sheng Li, Tammy Ma, Kristen Marhaver, Marianna Obrist and Yang Fan.

The World Economic Forum’s 12th Annual Meeting of the New Champions is taking place on 18-20 September in Tianjin, People’s Republic of China. Convening under the theme, Shaping Innovative Societies in the Fourth Industrial Revolution, more than 2,000 business leaders, policy-makers and experts from over 80 countries will participate and explore more than 200 sessions over the three days of the meeting.

Notes to editors

Follow the Annual Meeting of the New Champions 2018 at http://wef.ch/amnc18

View the best Forum Flickr photos at http://wef.ch/pix

Watch live webcasts of sessions at http://wef.ch/live

Become a fan of the Forum on Facebook at http://wef.ch/facebook

Follow the Forum on Twitter at http://wef.ch/twitter and http://wef.ch/livetweet

Follow the Forum on Instagram at http://wef.ch/instagram

Read the Forum Agenda at http://wef.ch/agenda

Subscribe to Forum news releases at http://wef.ch/news

Follow the Forum on Chinese Weibo at http://wef.ch/weibo

Search the Forum’s WeChat世界经济论坛

Listen to Chinese podcast on Ximalaya at wef.ch/ximalaya/

All opinions expressed are those of the author. The World Economic Forum Blog is an independent and neutral platform dedicated to generating debate around the key topics that shape global, regional and industry agendas.

About Us



Partners & Members

  • Join Us

Language Editions

Privacy Policy & Terms of Service

© 2024 World Economic Forum