Arunabha Ghosh

Chief Executive Officer, Council on Energy, Environment and Water (CEEW)

Dr Arunabha Ghosh is public policy expert, author, columnist, and institution builder. He is the founder-CEO of the Council on Energy, Environment and Water. He advises governments, industry, civil society, and international organisations around the world. He currently serves on Government of India’s G20 Finance Track Advisory Group and advises the Sherpa Track for India’s G20 Presidency in 2022-23. Dr Ghosh is currently Vice-Chair of the UN Committee for Development Policy. Arunabha is a member of several international expert advisory groups: Global Commission on the Economics of Water; High-Level Group of Economists, constituted by the French president for the One Planet Lab; and the High-Level Consultative Group for the U.S. Department of State’s Energy Transition Accelerator.

In 2020, the Government of India appointed him Co-Chair of the energy, environment and climate change track for India’s Science, Technology and Innovation Policy (STIP2020). He has been appointed the Co-Chair of the T20 Task Force on climate and energy for G20 Presidencies led by Indonesia in 2022 and India in 2023. He is also a member of the World Economic Forum’s Global Future Council on Clean Air, having previously been a member of the Global Future Council on Energy. He serves on the Board of ClimateWorks Foundation.

With experience in 48 countries, he previously worked at Princeton, Oxford, UNDP (New York), and WTO (Geneva). In 2022, the Asia Society honoured him with the 2022 Asia Game Changer Award, for his and CEEW’s “incredible work, which is making a real difference for India and for the planet”.

He holds a doctorate from the University of Oxford (Clarendon Scholar; Marvin Bower Scholar), an M.A. (First Class) in Philosophy, Politics and Economics (Balliol College, Oxford; Radhakrishnan Scholar); and topped Economics from St. Stephen’s College, Delhi.

About Us



Partners & Members

  • Join Us

Language Editions

Privacy Policy & Terms of Service

© 2023 World Economic Forum