Mads Krogsgaard Thomsen

Chief Executive Officer, Novo Nordisk Foundation

Mads Krogsgaard Thomsen is a Danish native born in 1960 and receiving his school education in United Kingdom and Denmark.
In 1986, Professor Thomsen graduated from Copenhagen University where he later also obtained his PhD and DSc degrees within the pharmacology of experimental therapeutics. After three years of pharmacological research at Leo Pharma, he joined Novo Nordisk A/S where he was head of Growth Hormone research, Diabetes R&D, Global Drug Discovery and, since 2000, Executive Vice President and Chief Science Officer. In this role, he was responsible for global drug and device research, CMC and global development, medical affairs, regulatory and safety within Novo Nordisk. During his tenure, 20 innovative medicines were developed and approved.
On 1 March 2021, Mads was appointed CEO of the Novo Nordisk Foundation.
Professor Thomsen has chaired Danish Research Council programmes within endocrinology and served as President of the Danish Academy of Technical Sciences. Professor Thomsen has been board member of the Danish Technical University, Cellartis AB, Steno Diabetes Center, Symphogen A/S and Chairman of the Board of the University of Copenhagen, Denmark. Today, he serves as member of the board of BB Biotech, Switzerland.
Professor Thomsen is also a member of the editorial boards of international, peer-reviewed journals. Since 2000, he has served as adjunct Professor of pharmacology at the Life Sciences Faculty of Copenhagen University.
At a national level, Professor Thomsen has acted as Chairman of the Danish Biotech, Research and Innovation Centre during its establishment, as well as on governmental committees, e.g. related to revision of the Danish system for post-graduate studies. His scientific publications include books, chapters and scientific papers within pharmacology, immunology, endocrinology and haemostasis.

About Us



Partners & Members

  • Sign in
  • Join Us

Language Editions

Privacy Policy & Terms of Service

© 2024 World Economic Forum