Araz Taeihagh

Assistant Professor of Public Policy, Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, National University of Singapore

Araz Taeihagh (D.Phil., Oxon) is an Assistant Professor of Public Policy at the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, Principal Investigator at the Centre for Trusted Internet and Community (CTIC) and NUS Cities of the National University of Singapore (NUS). Taeihagh was the Chair (2022-2023) and Co-Chair (2020-2022) of the PhD Programme in Public Policy at NUS. Research Focus: Governance of Disruptive Technologies (Artificial Intelligence, Autonomous Systems, Robotics), Platforms Governance and Smart Cities, Risk Governance, Comparative Public Policy, Policy Design, Complexity, Energy and Environment, Transport, Infrastructure, ESG. Taeihagh is a member of the editorial boards of Technological Forecasting and Social Change, Transport Reviews, Policy and Society, Humanities and Social Science Communications, Journal of Economic Policy Reform, and AIMS Energy, among others. Taeihagh is a member of the scientific committee (Governance) of AI Singapore (2023-2025) and an elected member of the College of IPPA (2019-2023) and Co-Chair of the Comparative Public Policy Research Committee (RC30) of IPSA (2023-2025). In 2021 and 2022 Taeihagh was ranked in the top 2% of scientists worldwide for citation impact in 2020 and 2021 in areas of Energy and Political Science. In 2021-2022 his works published in Regulation and Governance and Policy and Internet journals were recognised as the top cited publications for the period in their respective journals. Taeihagh is the winner of the best paper of the year award from Transport Reviews in 2020 for governing autonomous vehicles. On the 50th anniversary of earth day, Elsevier selected his paper on the study of four decades of evolution of policy mix for sustainable energy transition in China published in Applied Energy as one of 50 foundations and future of energy research papers on earth day in April 2020. He received the Research Excellence Award from LKYSPP in 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022, and is the recipient of the LKYSPP writing fellowship 2022 and NUS HSS faculty research fellowship 2023. Taeihagh earned his D.Phil. researching "A novel approach for the development of policies for socio-technical systems" at the University of Oxford, UK and passed his Viva under Prof. Venkat Venkatasubramanian (Columbia University - Samuel Ruben-Peter G. Viele Professor) and Prof. Ian Thompson (University of Oxford)). Taeihagh has more than two decades of consulting and advisory experiences, which include fortune top 10 and top 100 companies, government ministries, and multilaterals in energy, environmental, transportation and technology domains.

About Us



Partners & Members

  • Join Us

Language Editions

Privacy Policy & Terms of Service

© 2023 World Economic Forum