Pascale Foing Ehrenfreund

President, Committee for Space Research (COSPAR)

Academic Education 2008 M.A. Management & Leadership, Webster University, GPA: 3.83 1999 Habilitation in Astrochemistry, University of Vienna, Title: Cosmic Dust 1990 PhD Astrophysics, University Paris VII, Groupe de Physique des Solides and University of Vienna; Graduated with excellent grades Title: Visible and Infrared Spectroscopic Studies of Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons and other Carbon Clusters 1988 M.S. Molecular Biology, Austrian Academy of Sciences, Institute of Molecular Biology, Salzburg; Graduated with excellent grades Title: Purification and properties of an Iminopeptidase from Streptomyces plicatus 1983-1988 Astronomy and Biology/Genetics, University of Vienna, Graduated with excellent grades (10/10) Professional Experience 2015- Chair of the Executive Board, German Aerospace Center 2013-2015 President, Austrian Science Fund FWF 2008- Research Professor, Space Policy & International Affairs, Elliott School of International Affairs, George Washington University, USA 2008-2017 Lead Investigator: NASA Astrobiology Institute, Node Wisconsin 2006- Professor, Astrobiology, University of Leiden, NL 2005-2008 Distinguished Visiting Scientist/Consultant, JPL/Caltech, Pasadena, USA 2004-2005 Professor, Astrobiology, University of Leiden, Institute of Chemistry, NL 2003-2004 Professor, Astrobiology, University of Amsterdam, NL Research Expertise: Astrophysics, Astrochemistry, Astrobiology, Space Policy Publications in peer-reviewed journals: 200, Invited reviews, book chapters and conference papers: 134, Edition of books: 12 Memberships in Academies and Committees 2018- Chair, European Space Research Establishment ESRE 2018- Incoming President, International Astronautical Federation IAF 2018- Chancellor, International Space University 2018 Honorary Member, Académie de l'Air et de l'Espace 2016- Vice President, International Astronautical Federation: Communication, Publications and Global Conferences 2016-2018. Vice Chancellor, International Space University 2015- Vice President, Helmholtz Association (Aeronautics-Space-Transportation) 2015- Board of Trustees, Universities Space Research Association USRA, Region III 2010-2019 Chair, Committee on Space Research COSPAR Panel on Exploration PEX Prizes & Awards 2019 Knight of the Legion of Honour 2011 NASA Group Achievement Award for the O/OREOS satellite mission 2001 Pastoor-Schmeits Prize for Astronomy, Netherlands 2001 New Impulse grant, Dutch Government 1999 Asteroid 9826 Ehrenfreund 2114 T-3 1996 APART Prize, Austrian Academy of Science

About Us



Partners & Members

  • Join Us

Language Editions

Privacy Policy & Terms of Service

© 2023 World Economic Forum