World Economic Forum Appoints New Member to Board of Trustees

04 Feb 2021

Adrian Monck; Managing Director, Head of Public Engagement,

  • Julie Sweet joins the World Economic Forum Board of Trustees
  • The Board of Trustees is the guardian of the World Economic Forum's mission and values
  • More information:

Geneva, Switzerland, 4 February 2021 – The Chief Executive Officer of Accenture, Julie Sweet, will join the Board of Trustees of the World Economic Forum. Sweet’s track record of success and commitment to enhancing gender diversity in business will greatly contribute to strengthening the Forum in its mission of improving the state of the world.

The Board of Trustees, the highest governing body of the World Economic Forum, is responsible for its strategy and advancing its values. As a reflection of its multistakeholder status, membership is divided equally between representatives of the business community and leaders from government, international organizations and civil society.

“The World Economic Forum is delighted to welcome Julie Sweet to its Board of Trustees. We look forward to working with her to deliver on the Forum’s commitment to advancing stakeholder capitalism and contributing to more resilient and equitable societies,” said Klaus Schwab, Founder and Executive Chairman of the World Economic Forum.

“Collaboration between the world’s governments, businesses, civil society and cultural leaders has never been more critical,” said Julie Sweet, Chief Executive Officer, Accenture. “I am honoured to join the board of the World Economic Forum and help advance its work to find shared and actionable solutions to our most pressing issues while shaping a more inclusive and sustainable future for all.”

Julie Sweet is CEO of Accenture and serves on the company’s board of directors. Prior to becoming CEO in 2019, she served as CEO of Accenture’s business in North America and as Accenture’s general counsel, secretary and chief compliance officer for five years. Before joining Accenture in 2010, Sweet was a partner for 10 years in the law firm Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP.

Outside Accenture, Sweet is a leader on topics that include innovation, technology’s impact on business, and inclusion and diversity. She serves on the board of directors for the Business Roundtable, where she is Chair of its Technology Committee. She also serves on the board of directors for Catalyst.

As of 3 February 2021, the Members of the Board of Trustees of the World Economic Forum are:

Klaus SCHWAB* Chairman of the Board of Trustees, World Economic Forum

Peter BRABECK-LETMATHE* Vice-Chairman of the Board of Trustees, World Economic Forum, Chairman Emeritus, Nestlé SA, Switzerland

H.M. Queen Rania AL ABDULLAH of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan

Mukesh AMBANI Chairman and Managing Director, Reliance Industries, India

Marc R. BENIOFF‡ Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Salesforce, USA

Thomas BUBERL Chief Executive Officer, AXA, France

Mark CARNEY‡ Finance Adviser on the 26th Conference of the Parties to the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom

Laurence FINK Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, BlackRock, USA

Chrystia FREELAND Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance of Canada

Orit GADIESH** Chairman, Bain & Company, USA

Kristalina GEORGIEVA Managing Director, International Monetary Fund, Washington DC

Fabiola GIANOTTI‡ Director-General, European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)

Al GORE Vice-President of the United States (1993-2001); Chairman and Co-Founder, Generation Investment Management LLP, USA

Herman GREF Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Sberbank, Russia

Angel GURRÍA Secretary-General, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

André S. HOFFMANN*‡ Non-Executive Vice-Chairman, Roche Holding Ltd., Switzerland

Paula INGABIRE Minister of Information Communication Technology and Innovation of Rwanda

Christine LAGARDE President, European Central Bank

Jack MA Alibaba Board of Directors, Alibaba Group, People's Republic of China

Yo-Yo MA Cellist

Peter MAURER President, International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), Switzerland

Luis Alberto MORENO** President, Inter-American Development Bank, Washington DC (2005-2020)

Patrice MOTSEPE Founder and Executive Chairman, African Rainbow Minerals, South Africa

L. Rafael REIF President, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA

David M. RUBENSTEIN Co-Founder and Co-Executive Chairman, Carlyle Group, USA

Mark SCHNEIDER Chief Executive Officer, Nestlé, Switzerland

Tharman SHANMUGARATNAM Senior Minister, Singapore

Jim Hagemann SNABE*‡ Chairman, Supervisory Board, Siemens AG, Germany; Chairman, A.P. Møller-Maersk, Denmark

Julie SWEET Chief Executive Officer, Accenture, Ireland

Feike SYBESMA**‡ Honorary Chairman, Royal DSM, Netherlands

Heizo TAKENAKA** Minister of State for Economic and Fiscal Policy of Japan (2002-2006)

Min ZHU* President, National Institute of Financial Research, People’s Republic of China

* Member of the Governing Board

** Member of the Audit & Risk Committee

‡ Member of the Impact Committee

Note to Editors
Learn about the Forum’s impact

Check out Forum videos | photos | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | LinkedIn | TikTok | Weibo | Podcasts

Read the Forum Agenda (also in French | Spanish | Mandarin | Japanese)
Subscribe to News releases and Podcasts

All opinions expressed are those of the author. The World Economic Forum Blog is an independent and neutral platform dedicated to generating debate around the key topics that shape global, regional and industry agendas.

About Us



Partners & Members

  • Join Us

Language Editions

Privacy Policy & Terms of Service

© 2024 World Economic Forum