The African Union is on a mission to transform the continent by 2063. This is what you need to know

Plans are underway to establish free trade across Africa. Image: REUTERS/Florin Iorganda

John McKenna

Senior Writer, Formative Content


Our Impact
The Big Picture
Explore and monitor how Africa is affecting economies, industries and global issues
Crowdsource Innovation
Get involved with our crowdsourced digital platform to deliver impact at scale

Stay up to date:


Image: West Africa Gateway
A general view shows the headquarters of the African Union (AU) building in Ethiopia's capital Addis Ababa, January 29, 2017. REUTERS/Tiksa Negeri - RTSXWBK
Image: REUTERS/Tiksa Negeri
Newly elected African Union Commission Chairman, Chadian Foreign Minister Moussa Faki Mahamat (R) talks to the outgoing Chairperson of the Commission, Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma during his swearing-in ceremony at the African Union (AU) headquarters in Ethiopia's capital, Addis Ababa, March 14, 2017. REUTERS/Tiksa Negeri - RTX30YYC
Image: REUTERS/Tiksa Negeri - RTX30YYC
Don't miss any update on this topic

Create a free account and access your personalized content collection with our latest publications and analyses.

License and Republishing

World Economic Forum articles may be republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License, and in accordance with our Terms of Use.

The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not the World Economic Forum.

Related topics:

AfricaTrade and InvestmentEconomic Progress


Global Agenda

The Agenda Weekly

A weekly update of the most important issues driving the global agenda

Subscribe today

You can unsubscribe at any time using the link in our emails. For more details, review our privacy policy.

12 ecopreneurs restoring land and livelihoods in the Sahel

Kaya Bülbül and Gianluca Gygax

November 29, 2022

About Us
Partners & Members
Language Editions

Privacy Policy & Terms of Service

© 2022 World Economic Forum