European Union

5 things to know about the Western Balkans

So what's next for the six nations: Albania; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Kosovo; Montenegro; North Macedonia; and Serbia? Image: REUTERS/Hazir Reka

Douglas Broom

Senior Writer, Formative Content


The Big Picture
Explore and monitor how European Union is affecting economies, industries and global issues
Crowdsource Innovation
Get involved with our crowdsourced digital platform to deliver impact at scale

Stay up to date:

European Union

Western Balkans Competitiveness Index vs EU nations Image: World Economic Forum
Image: World Economic Forum
Image: World Economic Forum

What is the Forum doing on the Western Balkans?

Image: World Economic Forum

License and Republishing

World Economic Forum articles may be republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License, and in accordance with our Terms of Use.

The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not the World Economic Forum.

Related topics:

European UnionInequalityEconomic ProgressWorkforce and EmploymentTechnological TransformationEmerging Technologies


Global Agenda

The Agenda Weekly

A weekly update of the most important issues driving the global agenda


You can unsubscribe at any time using the link in our emails. For more details, review our privacy policy.

Keep calm and cut the air con - Japan's energy saving is model for Europe
About Us
Partners & Members
Language Editions

Privacy Policy & Terms of Service

© 2022 World Economic Forum